-
Stop the server
Stop your Minecraft Java Edition server. -
Connect via SFTP
Connect to your server via SFTP. -
Delete the world
Locate theworldfolder in the main folder and delete it. -
Restart the server
Restart your server. A new world will then be generated automatically.
- Guides
- Gameserver
- Minecraft Java Edition
- How to Delete a World on a Minecraft Java Edition Server

How to Delete a World on a Minecraft Java Edition Server
Delete a world on a Minecraft Java Edition server
1 min read
Sep 9, 2025
Written byEmeraldHost Team
Last updated on Aug 20, 2026 Edit on GitHub
Did this article help you?
Your feedback helps us improve our guides.
Contact Support
Create a support ticket and our team will get back to you as soon as possible – personal and professional.
Go to Support1257 members online
Discord Community
Connect with other players, get quick help from the community, and stay up to date with the latest news.
Join Discord